FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

South Dakota Pharmacists Association Honors Excellence in Pharmacy at 138th Annual Convention

[Pierre, SD] – [Sept. 19, 2024] — The South Dakota Pharmacists Association (SDPhA) celebrated its 138th Annual Meeting and Convention at the Dacotah Bank Center in Brookings Sept. 12-13, 2024. The event gathered pharmacists, student pharmacists, technicians, and industry professionals for networking, education, and recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of pharmacy.

Recognition of Outstanding Achievements

A key highlight of the convention was the awards ceremony, where several individuals were honored for their contributions to the pharmacy profession. Among the prestigious awards presented were:

- Pharmacy Technician of the Year Awards: Donna DeGeest and Lori Kayl, both of Mitchell, were recognized for their exceptional dedication and contributions to patient care.
- Outstanding Industry Salesperson of the Year: Barry Nagel, Sioux Falls, was awarded for his support to the pharmacy profession through sponsorships and educational initiatives.
- Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award: Emily Van Klompenburg, Bruce, was honored for her work in ambulatory care pharmacy and her leadership at SDSU, and in the South Dakota National Guard.
- **Bowl of Hygeia Award**: Dana Darger, Rapid City, was celebrated for his exceptional service to the pharmacy profession as well as outstanding community service.
- Hustead Award (South Dakota Pharmacist of the Year): Jodi Heins, Sioux Falls received
 this award for her years of invaluable contributions to pharmacy education and mentorship
 of pharmacy students.

A Celebration of Commitment to the Profession

Pharmacists with more than 50 years of service were also honored. Eight pharmacists joined the exclusive "50-Year Club," receiving pins and certificates for their longstanding dedication to improving patient care. They are:

- Donald Hazledine Belle Fourche, SD
- David Helgeland Brookings, SD
- Lois Hoffman Platte, SD
- Greig Rank Rapid City, SD
- Douglas Smith Sioux Falls, SD
- Louis Van Roekel Deadwood, SD
- Margaret Zard Mitchell, SD
- Milo Zeeb Philip, SD

New Board Leadership

The SDPhA also introduced its new leadership for the upcoming year. The newly elected officers include:

• **President**: Andy Tonneson, Colman

President-Elect: Chelsea Conway, Rapid City
 Vice President: Scout Forbes-Hurd, Brookings

• Treasurer: Jeremy Daniel, Sioux Falls

• At-Large Board Members: Sarah Andersen, Mobridge and Eric Grocott, Montrose

• Immediate Past President: Jessica Strobl, Dell Rapids

These leaders will guide the association in its ongoing mission to represent the pharmacy profession through advancing patient care, enhancing public awareness and serving in the best interest of public health and pharmacy.

For more information about the event or the South Dakota Pharmacists Association, please contact:

Amanda Bacon

Executive Director, SDPhA Phone: 605.224.2338

Email: amanda@sdpha.org